Deacons are ordained servant leaders of the church body that serve as the hands and feet of the caring ministries, and who offer words and the comfort of Christ, whenever needed. Click here to download a position description.

Deacon Care Ministries include:

  • Communion: Deacons serve communion to the congregation each month.
  • Visitation: Visits to those who are unable to attend church, those who are hospitalized, the grieving and the elderly. Visitations are coordinated by Delianne Koops who can be contacted at (510) 848-6252 ext. 237 or at
  • Deacon Fund: Administering funds from the congregation to individuals and families with emergency needs.
  • Young at Heart Luncheon: Deacons organize an annual luncheon to honor our seniors 80 years and older. 
  • Cal Move-In Day: Deacons welcome new Cal students and their families by providing parking, coffee and snacks on move in day each year.
  • Support for Memorials: Providing refreshments, ushers and support for families having memorials at First Pres.
  • Winter Clothing Drive: Gathering warm clothing for our bothers and sisters who live on the streets.

“And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” Colossians 3:17

For more information to make a confidential Deacon Fund request, or to reach the Deacons, please contact David Wagner, Caring Ministries Admin at (510) 848-6252 ext. 241 or

Serving Communion
Serving Communion

Cal Move-In
Cal Move-In Day

Young at Heart Luncheon
Young at Heart Luncheon










Class of 2017

Extending for one year:
Nicole Callis
Peter Callis
Sylvia Chan Lopez
Sandra Ramos
Eric Rauscher
Blanca Underhill

Class of 2018

Yasuyo Abe
Lee Bindeman
Christina Davis
Tyler Davis
Ashley Downend
Bob Goss
Kathy Goss
Jan Gustavson
Fa Lu Hutson
Jeannie Lee
Kathy Leong
Virginia Robbins
Justin Roth
Peter Schroepfer
Ted Streeter
Patty Uhland
David Wagner
Dot Walker
Jim Walker

Class of 2019

Christopher Anderson
Christin Cooper
Arlene Hatfield
Diana Henke
Kurt Osmer
Fara Ratsirarson
Helian Ratsirarson
Mike Williamson

Class of 2020

Jim Chagnon
Vivian Ho
Kenzie Sodestrom
Jon Stairs